Prof Giovanni Staurenghi MD

Meeting:  2018 RANZCO


Date:      -

Session Title: Invited Speakers

Session Time:      -


OCT angiography is a new tool for making differential diagnosis in reti- nal and choroidal diseases. The goal of
this presentation is to describe the instruments and the possible differences in the images.

Brief Curriculum Vitae:
Giovanni Staurenghi is currently professor of Oph- thalmology, chair of the University Eye Clinic and director of the University Eye Clinic Department of Biomedical and Clinical Sciences “Luigi Sacco” at Luigi Sacco Hospital in Milan, Italy and director of Residency Program at the same University. He was awarded his degree at the University of Pavia, Italy, in 1986, and completed his residency at the Univer- sity of Milan in 1990. He was a research fellow at the Schepens Eye Research Institute in Boston, Mas- sachusetts, USA, from 1991 to 1992 and visiting sci- entist at the same institute from 1992 to 1993. He became associate professor in 1999 and was pro- moted to full professor in 2007.
Professor Staurenghi is a scientific advisor of the Digital Angiography Reading Center and visiting professor and consultant for the Belfast Ophthalmic Reading Center at the Central Angiographic Resource Facility. He is also a member of the edito- rial board of Investigative Ophthalmology and Visual Sci- ence, Retina, American Journal of Cases, and acts as a reviewer for many international scientific journals. He is silver fellow of ARVO, fellow of European Board of Ophthalmology and Achievement Award of the American Academy of Ophthalmology.
Professor Staurenghi’s research, publications and lectures have an important bearing on retinal dis- eases; in particular, his work is focused on different types of imaging and treatment. He was awarded with the Coscas medal, and give name lectures such as Junius Kuhnt lecture and the Heinrich Müller lecture. He has been a member of ARVO since 1988, the Macula Society since 2004, the Ophthalmic Pho- tographers’ Society since 2006, and the AAO since 2007. He was part of the Annual Meeting Program Committee for ARVO from 2008 to 2010.